Nerd Out
Nerd Out Interviews
Nerd Out with Marcus Miers
0:00
-26:24

Nerd Out with Marcus Miers

Alternatively watch it on Youtube

In this interview, Marcus and I talk about how he got into corporate L&D, comparing and contrasting academia and corporate ID, improving accessibility in learning and how to measure the success of a learning program in such a way that the business cares.

Here’s my favorite bit from the interview:

I've grew up with deaf parents and so that's always been front of mind for me. But when I actually went through the process of going to meetings with the accessibility team and then I went to a committee meeting with an accessibility council, it was very humbling. I heard how a screen reader actually reads out the content and it was just such a gating awful experience, and that was not in line with what I wanted the learners to experience. I wanted to create a very positive easy to use aesthetic experience that communicated the learning objectives and the goals of the program. Then going to the committee meeting, I just saw firsthand how people with like very different types of physical and cognitive limitations had to like pick up pieces of paper or to get to a podium to present on their next topic, and I I just remember sitting in the back of the room just like tears in my eyes because I had just been so off base and I was just so wrong about it. So I think that was something that just stuck with me and those are very easy things that you can build into an employee's development.

Nerd Out is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Nerd Out
Nerd Out Interviews
I interview readers of the Nerd Out newsletter. We talk about Corporate Education, Design, Philosophy and whatever we want to talk about.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Alyn Kinney