Nerd Out
Nerd Out Interviews
Nerd Out With Dash Jeyathurai
0:00
-21:33

Nerd Out With Dash Jeyathurai

Alternatively watch this podcast on YouTube.

In this interview, Dash and I talk about how she got into corporate L&D, The Byzantine Empire, strategies in creating manager training, how practitioners should think about generative AI, and being intentional with learning as a parent.

Here’s my favorite bit from the interview at about 18:41:

My daughter's in kindergarten and she is participating in these little contests at school, like the little science fair. One of the things that we're trying to think about is how do we teach her to aspire for excellence and know that sometimes even when you work really hard and you aspire for excellence, you're not gonna get the blue ribbon because there was someone better. That's a good lesson. You know, we've all experienced that we worked really hard on something and you know, you don't get the blue ribbon and that's that's a hard thing and I don't know how to teach her that. And so I've been reaching out to folks in this community to to ask them what what are you doing like how do you how do you not focus it so much on the reward being winning because that's not always going to be there.

Buy me a coffee ☕ | Give me feedback 📝 | Connect on LinkedIn

Nerd Out is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Nerd Out
Nerd Out Interviews
I interview readers of the Nerd Out newsletter. We talk about Corporate Education, Design, Philosophy and whatever we want to talk about.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Alyn Kinney