Nerd Out
Nerd Out Interviews
Nerd Out with Ashley Thomas
0:00
-23:23

Nerd Out with Ashley Thomas

Alternatively watch it on Youtube

In this interview Ashley Thomas, Google Learning & Development PgM, talks about how she got into L&D, what the difference is between ID in the government vs Corporate America and the challenges that L&D professionals, especially women, face when moving up the ranks in corporations.

I've been in learning development for over a decade. It's amazing how time flies. For me, I always think of the hero's journey with Joseph Campbell. There have been so many ups and downs throughout my career. I was a government contractor with the DOD. I started out in higher education. I was an English major. I got my master's from Berkeley. I got my master's in higher education administration. I was in student affairs dean of students res life. And then I realized that's not for me. So throughout my career, it's been just these ups and downs. And having been laid off in corporate education like two times, I think I've trained myself to really figure out the value prop but also accept the fact that there are certain things out of our control.

Discussion about this podcast

Nerd Out
Nerd Out Interviews
I interview readers of the Nerd Out newsletter. We talk about Corporate Education, Design, Philosophy and whatever we want to talk about.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Alyn Kinney